SILBERSALZ Science & Media Awards

SILBERSALZ Science & Media Awards

Science provides a creative platform to expand our understanding of the world around us and changes the way we see and experience our world.

SILBERSALZ Science & Media Awards, in association with Jackson WILD, recognizes and celebrates the achievements of scientists who are working to solve many of today's challenges, of creators who fascinate and inspire audiences worldwide through their stories, advancing the public discussion around global issues.

Open to worldwide submissions until 28 April 2024 via Filmfreeway, the international competition is calling for original, creative factual programs dealing with a range of scientific disciplines, including natural sciences, social sciences, mathematics, engineering and medicine.

Science & Media Awards

What are we looking for?

For 9 categories, we are looking for Documentary films, factual series, immersive works and social media productions made for theatrical release, television, digital platforms, social media platforms and/or public exhibition, are eligible to enter the competition.

The competition will be open for submissions from 14th of December 2023 through FilmFreeway

The official entry deadline for all submissions is 23:59 CET on 28 April 2024. Submissions from all countries are welcomed.

For any questions, get in touch with Irem Couchouron at

Awards & Prizes           

Submitted works are reviewed by multiple independent judging panels, involving academicians, science communicators, science journalists, media executives and foundations supporting science and entertainment exchange, from diverse backgrounds, countries and disciplines.

The prizewinners will be awarded together with prominent names in science communication on the 2nd of November 2024, at the Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences, during the SILBERSALZ Science & Media Festival, 30 October - 3 November 2024, Halle (Saale). They will also get the chance to screen their films during the festival and receive international recognition.

Submit Now