Show debate: Space vs. the deep sea

All vs. Tiefsee | Credits Karmen Hissmann Geomar & Matthias Maurer NASA, ESA

Show debate: Space vs. the deep sea
Where is the next great exploration waiting?

They are the final frontiers: Space and the deep sea - equally fascinating and unexplored. Where will we head next? What will we discover? Where will we learn more about the origin of life? And where will we find answers to the pressing problems facing our planet? 
The Great Debate brings together six leading minds in space exploration and marine science. In two teams they will compete against each other to get you excited about their field of research. 
Both sides are highly motivated: Team Space is reaching for the stars and Team Deep Sea is ready for the big catch. But who can win the favour of the audience?
Come along with your questions and decide.

Team Space: Dr. Matthias Maurer, Astronaut, ESA / Volker Schmid, Space Engineer, DLR / Prof. Dr. Lena Noack, Planetary Geodynamics, Planetology and Remote Sensing, FU Berlin 

Team Deep Sea: Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, Marine Biologist, Director, AWI / Prof. Dr. Colin Devey, Geologist, Ocean Floor Dynamics, GEOMAR / Dr. Helena Herr, Cetacean Researcher, Marine Ecosystem and Fisheries Sciences, University of Hamburg 

Moderation: Clarissa Corrêa da Silva, television anchorwoman, WIssen macht AH!

In cooperation with Wissenschaft kontrovers by Wissenschaft im Dialog
A project in the Science Year 2023 - Our Universe

Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius

Director of the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI) / Scientific Director of the SILBERSALZ Festival

Clarissa Corrêa da Silva

Moderator, editor and author

Prof. Dr. Colin Devey

Dynamics of the Ocean Floor, Magmatic and Hydrothermal Systems

Dr. Helena Herr

Scientist, Institute of Marine Ecosystem and Fishery Science, University of Hamburg & guest researcher

Dr. Matthias Maurer

Astronaut & Scientist

Volker Schmid

Space Engineer & Officer in the Executive Board of the Chair

Prof. Dr. Lena Noack

Department of Earth Sciences